Jonas Kaufmann performed one of the best recitals the Met has probably ever hosted on Sunday. It was the most moving performance I have EVER attend, and until now I cannot say I have ever witnessed a singer being called back on stage to sing five encores! Yes, he did perform five encores… incredible. He most definitely has given me a new appreciation for German Lied. There really isn’t any recording that can compare to the naked sound of voice and piano in an acoustic such as the Metropolitan Opera House… so experiencing his voice live really blew me away. David and I waited by the stage door with a fairly significant crowd and were able to get our programs signed! I couldn’t believe it!!! David congratulated him in German, but I was too shocked to even say anything! Meeting a famous opera star was definitely not something I was expecting my first weekend here.

Tonight will be my second evening of training at the restaurant, so soon I will be able to take tables! I’m really enjoying the job so far… besides the fact that I had to go and buy an expensive white blouse, nice black dress pants and an iron! Shopping here is so much more expensive compared to Minnesota.

For Halloween Danit and I drove to her aunt and uncle’s house in Arlington and trick or treated with her 8 year old, adorable cousin Sophie. We had a blast feeling like kids again! Sophie said I looked like I was 10 in my costume so I felt not as ridiculous going from door to door. Danit was a beautiful genie I was Alice in Wonderland … no surprise : )

Training is soon! So I’ll write more later<3 xoxo